24 July 2013

2011 National League

Philadelphia was the dominant team in the regular season, mainly on the strength of the best pitching in the league.  The Phillies won 102 games.  Milwaukee took the Central with 96 wins, Arizona won 94, with solid offenses and good pitching.  St. Louis edged their way to the wild card spot with 90 wins, then ran the table in the postseason for a World Series title, showing again that the playoffs are largely a crapshoot.  It was the capper on Tony LaRussa's career.  Atlanta won 89 and San Francisco 86.  Houston was the worst team in the league with 106 losses.

Jose Reyes won the batting average title with a .337 mark, followed by Ryan Braun at .332 and Matt Kemp at .324.  Joey Votto edged Prince Fielder and Lance Berkman in on-base average, Braun led Kemp in slugging.  Braun edged Kemp in OPS.  Kemp led the league with 115 runs scored, Braun scored 109.  Starlin Castro had 207 hits.  Kemp had 353 total bases.  Votto had 40 doubles, Reyes and Shane Victorino 16 triples.  Kemp led with 39 homers, Fielder 38, Albert Pujols 37, Dan Uggla 36.  Kemp led with 126 RBI, Fielder 120, Ryan Howard 116.  Michael Bourn stole 61 bases.

Clayton Kershaw and Ian Kennedy won 21 games, Roy Halladay won 19.  Kershaw also led with a 2.28 ERA and 248 strikeouts.  Halladay had a 2.35 ERA, Cliff Lee 2.40.  Ryan Vogelsong posted a 2.71, Tim Lincecum 2.74.  Lee struck out 238, Halladay and Lincecum 220.  John Axford and Craig Kimbrel saved 46 games each.  Halladay had 8 complete games, Lee six shutouts, and Chris Carpenter led in innings.

Win Shares leaders, position players:  Matt Kemp (Los Angeles), Ryan Braun (Milwaukee) 37, Joey Votto (Cincinnati), Prince Fielder (Milwaukee) 33, Lance Berkman (St. Louis) 30, Miguel Montero (Arizona) 29, Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh) 28, Justin Upton (Arizona), Jose Reyes (New York), Albert Pujols (St. Louis) 26, Aramis Ramirez and Starlin Castro (Chicago), Troy Tulowitski (Colorado), Jimmy Rollins (Philadelphia), Mike Morse (Washington) 25.

Win Shares leaders, pitchers:  Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles) 23, Roy Halladay and Cliff Lee (Philadelphia) 22, Ian Kennedy (Arizona) 20, Craig Kimbrel (Atlanta), Cole Hamels (Philadelphia) 17, Daniel Hudson (Arizona), Tim Lincecum (San Francisco) 16.

WAR leaders, position players:  Kemp 8.4, Braun 7.2, Votto 6.4, Justin Upton (Arizona) 6.1, Reyes 5.8, Tulowitski, Victorino, and Brandon Phillips (Cincinnati) 5.6, Sandoval 5.5, McCutchen 5.4, Fielder 4.9, Matt Holliday (St. Louis) 4.8, Berkman 4.6.

WAR leaders, pitchers:  Halladay 8.0, Kershaw 6.6, Lee 6.5, Kennedy 5.0, Matt Garza (Chicago) 4.9, Hudson 4.8, Hamels, Matt Cain and Madison Bumgarner (San Francisco) 4.6, Chris Carpenter (St. Louis) 4.5.

Actual award winners:

MVP (top 12):
1Ryan BraunMIL388.020.087%7.83150563109187331113358.332.397.597.994
2Matt KempLAD332.010.074%8.13161602115195391264074.324.399.586.986
3Prince FielderMIL229.01.051%4.5916256995170381201107.299.415.566.981
4Justin UptonARI214.01.048%6.0515959210517131882159.289.369.529.898
5Albert PujolsSTL166.00.037%5.421475791051733799961.299.366.541.906
6Joey VottoCIN135.00.030%6.44161599101185291038110.309.416.531.947
7Lance BerkmanSTL118.00.026%3.65145488901473194292.301.412.547.959
8Troy TulowitzkiCOL69.00.015%6.171435378116230105959.302.372.544.916
9Roy HalladayPHI52.00.012%8.663274390302.
10Ryan HowardPHI39.00.09%1.121525578114133116175.253.346.488.835
11Jose ReyesNYM31.00.07%4.651265371011817443943.337.384.493.877
12Clayton KershawLAD29.00.06%7.18337110160403.
Cy Young (top 5):
1Clayton KershawLAD207.027.092%6.53215.8082.2833330520233.11746659155422483159120.977161
2Roy HalladayPHI133.04.059%8.86196.7602.3532320810233.22086561103542204129331.040163
3Cliff LeePHI90.00.040%8.61178.6802.4032320660232.21976662184202386009201.027160
4Ian KennedyARI76.01.034%4.78214.8402.8833330110222.018673711955019891119001.086137
5Cole HamelsPHI17.00.08%6.58149.6092.7932310300216.01696867194421945338500.986137
Rookie of the Year:
1Craig KimbrelATL160.032.0100%2.44790000000432.101.0397904677.048332127
2Freddie FreemanATL70.00.044%1.66157571671612176453.282.346.448.795
3Vance WorleyPHI40.00.025%3.6225454100501.
4Wilson RamosWSN6.00.04%1.74113389481041552038.267.334.445.779
5Josh CollmenterARI5.00.03%1.963140260102.
6Danny EspinosaWSN3.00.02%2.751585737213521661757.236.323.414.737
7Darwin BarneyCHC2.00.01%1.6614352966146243922.276.313.353.666
7Kenley JansenLAD2.00.01%0.85510000000212.851.043510553.23032696
Manager of the Year:
ankTmVote Pts1st PlaceShareGWLW-L%Finish
1Kirk GibsonARI152.028.095%1629468.5801.0
2Ron RoenickeMIL92.03.058%1629666.5931.0
3Tony LaRussaSTL24.01.015%1629072.5562.0
4Charlie ManuelPHI10.00.06%16210260.6301.0
5Fredi GonzalezATL4.00.02%1628973.5492.0
6Bruce BochySFG2.00.01%1628676.5312.0
6Clint HurdlePIT2.00.01%1627290.4444.0
8Terry CollinsNYM1.00.01%1627785.4754.0
8Don MattinglyLAD1.00.01%1618279.5093.0

Top player:  It was a Kemp and Braun year.  The writers went for Braun, mainly because the Brewers won the division, but Kemp rates slightly ahead.
1. Matt Kemp, 2. Ryan Braun, 3. Joey Votto, 4. Justin Upton, 5. Jose Reyes, 6. Andrew McCutchen.

Top pitcher:  Clayton Kershaw won the pitchers' "Triple Crown," but Halladay rates slightly ahead in ERA+ due to home parks.  It's a close call.
1. Roy Halladay, 2. Clayton Kershaw, 3. Cliff Lee, 4. Ian Kennedy, 5. Cole Hamels.

Top rookie:  Craig Kimbrel with an outstanding relief performance.

Top manager:  Charlie Manuel, managing the top winners in the league.

No comments: